Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Links to great tutorials and original contributions.
Don't know how to setup your VPN ? How to install a panel ? How to tweak yout VPS ? Check here and ask if you don't find what you are looking for.
Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:54 pm

Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby Admin » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:50 am

Hello !

While we do have our own DNS since more than a decade, we offered no access to the VPS customers on the basic assumption they can use their own or third party ones.
All this changed when we partnered with DNS4Pro: http://www.dns4.pro
They provided us with an WHMCS plugin so you can use it directly from within WHMCS as long as you have an account with us.
Their network is full anycast all around the world for lowest latency.

Now to the practical part, the tutorial.

Login to your billing panel (WHMCS) and go to My services:
Image

Select FREE ANYCAST DNS and go to Add new Zone:
Image
Do not forget to add our DNS servers in your domain panel (usually available in the panel from the company that sold you the domain).
Do not add the domain such as "www.domain.com", but only as "domain.com". You will add the subdomains later, you can add http://www.domain.com, ftp.domain.com, any kind of subdomain.domain.com.

Now, not all kinds of subdomains should be A type (for example you need an MX record for mail and an AAAA record for IPv6 entries). You can select the type of record here:
Image

Here is a list of the types of DNS records and what each does.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_DNS_record_types

Host: For easy understanding, you can call it like the subdomain. '@' is an alias for the domain itself (mydomain123.com), '*' means wildcard (helpful if you host lots of subdomains on the same IP address)
Content: This is what the Nameserver will respond (generally this is an IP address)

Enjoy another free service we offer our customers along with free ftp space and many special (even free) deals !

ErawanArifNugroho
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby ErawanArifNugroho » Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:46 am

Thanks for the DNS Uncle Sal :)

Some of my domains were still registered using Crazydomains.com.au, so when I entered the dns, it will automatically search the IP of the dns. But when I try to enter ns1.dnsiw.com - ns3.dnsiw.com, the IP not appear.

Maybe it's because each dns using 3 dns from dns4.pro. So, for Crazydomains user, they might not be able to use this feature :)

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby Admin » Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:25 pm

Cant you put the IPs by hand ?

ErawanArifNugroho
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby ErawanArifNugroho » Sat Nov 02, 2013 12:39 am

Wich one is the IP for the dns? There's 3 IP for each ns

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby Admin » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:38 am

Any will do :)

emilv1975
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby emilv1975 » Fri Nov 08, 2013 2:41 pm

Hi, :)

Does it support DNSSEC?

Unfortunately these nameservers do not comply with ISNIC rules. :/

Amfy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby Amfy » Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:03 pm

emilv1975 wrote:Does it support DNSSEC?

Yes, but you will need to send-in a ticket to have it manually enabled.

emilv1975 wrote:Unfortunately these nameservers do not comply with ISNIC rules. :/

I have emailed you regarding that issue

ErawanArifNugroho wrote:Some of my domains were still registered using Crazydomains.com.au, so when I entered the dns, it will automatically search the IP of the dns. But when I try to enter ns1.dnsiw.com - ns3.dnsiw.com, the IP not appear.

Maybe it's because each dns using 3 dns from dns4.pro. So, for Crazydomains user, they might not be able to use this feature :)


I've sent you an e-mail as well, is probably much easier to handle it that way, than here :)

IvanFlowSu
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Anycast DNS (Yes, we heard you !)

Postby IvanFlowSu » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:37 pm

Hi!
Your service are support secondary DNS ?
I'm interested in the transfer 3 domains.
For 2 domains required DNSSec, who to contact for their subsequent activation ?


Return to “Tutorials and HowTo's”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest