Absolute beginner's guide to PPTP VPN !

Links to great tutorials and original contributions.
Don't know how to setup your VPN ? How to install a panel ? How to tweak yout VPS ? Check here and ask if you don't find what you are looking for.
Admin
Site Admin

Absolute beginner's guide to PPTP VPN !

Post by Admin » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:06 am

Hello all !

A huge number of tickets are about tun/tap ppp and VPN.
I will detail here a very simple vpn for windows users. I think that people which are looking to setup an OpenVPN are fairly seasoned in Linux and could do that without much help. If there will be requests, I will do a tutorial step-by-step for OpenVPN too.
I also asume that you need your box only for VPN or you already have an OVZ plan and want to add simple VPN capabilities with it.
This is for Debian 6 32 bit, my distribution of choice for a VPS. It will work probably on 64 bit too, also on Ubuntu. Didn't test it except on Debian 32 bit.
It works on any VZ plan, tested this on a 50cents box.
So, here we go.
First, open a cmd box, we will need this later, and put a ping on your IP to stay on all the time we work on this.
Press windows key+r. Windows key is the key between left ctrl+alt. If you dont see it, go to start, type cmd in the search programs and files box and then click the command prompt icon.
Write this inside:

Code: Select all

ping youriphere -t
Replace youriphere with the VPS IP you received from us. Must be something like 37.xxx.xxx.xxx 192.xxx.xxx.xxx or something along those lines. Write it exactly like there.
For our VPN to work we need to enable 2 devices (one in fact, but since we are there, let's enable both), TUN/TAP and PPP. Do not worry, you can do this simple, just login into your solusvm panel: https://solusvm.prometeus.net:5656 using the data you got in the mail which told you you received a VPS from us (user is vzuser-somenumber and pass is below in mail).